



Presentation Night 2021





Order of Events

Acknowledgement of Country Amelia McIntosh and Elissa Pomeroy, Year 8 Captains

Symphonic Band March: The Lion's Gate Ralph Ford

Principal's Welcome Marise McConaghy

2021 School Captains' Welcome Emma Blakely and Francesca Clarke

Principal's Address and Interview with Parent, Student and Staff Member Marise McConaghy, Chris and Annabelle Howell, and Carolyn Joubran

Junior School Strings Hoedown at the Holidays

Arr. Chris M Bernotas

2021 Junior School Captains' Speech Poppy Aitchison and Shalini Balashankar

2021 Chairperson Address and Presentation of the Strathcona Medal Jocelyn Furlan

Senior School Vocal Showcase O (Fly Away) Coldplay

Years 5 and 6 Awards

Cast of Matilda When I Grow Up *Tim Minchin*

Years 7, 8 and 9 Awards

Nadya Da Silva, Violin and Irina Cherkasskaya, Piano

Summertime *G. Gershwin, trans. Heifetz*

Years to and it Awards

Presentation of the Carl Jeff Memorial House Cup

Blessing Daniel Bullock, Director of Mission and Ministries

Seek Ye First

2021 Strathcona Medal



Prue Leggoe OAM (Turner '63)

Prue has been President of Suited to Success Inc (Brisbane) and Groomed to Go Inc (as Dress for Success Mornington Peninsula), since March 2008.

In 2007, Prue founded and became President of Suited to Success Inc in Brisbane, which operated under the name Fitted for Work and then Dress for Success Brisbane. The service assists struggling unemployed women to be better prepared for work by being coached and groomed for the world of work. Starting from "scratch", Prue managed the recruiting of volunteers, development of a strategy and business plan, and systems for the organisation, and the raising of support and funding for the organisation, which has continued to thrive and assist hundreds of women each year into employment. Prue became President of Groomed to Go Inc, which operates Dress for Success in Mornington Peninsula when she moved residence to Melbourne (2012). In that time, Prue has led this not-for-profit organisation through a difficult "restructuring". This ensured that it continued its services, built new support networks, moved to more desirable premises, and developed a sound financial base.

The organisation has developed a "Career Centre" for its unemployed clients who need additional skill and personal development tools to help them be more work ready. Workshops for these women are proving to be extremely valuable. They have also commenced a post-employment mentoring, support and Career Development program through funding from Dress for Success Worldwide.

Each year the organisation assists nearly 400 women to move to a more positive future.

After graduating from Melbourne University with her Law Degree, Prue worked as a solicitor, eventually establishing her own law firm, Prue Sibree & Co.

In 1981, Prue won a by-election caused by the retirement of Sir Rupert Hamer in the district of Kew. During her time in Parliament, Prue served as Secretary to Shadow Cabinet, opposition spokesperson for Early Childhood Development, Youth and Women's Affairs and opposition spokesperson for Further Education Training and Employment.

Prue was awarded an Order of Australia in the General Division (OAM) in 2019 for her service to women through job-readiness initiatives.

Past Strathcona Medal Recipients

2020	Amanda Whitford ('87)	Barrister and Solicitor, Criminal law
2019	Catherine Beaufort OAM ('90)	Medicine/International Relations
2018	Dr Kate Rickersey (nee Dalrymple) ('96)	Land Management
2017	Emeritus Prof. Ruth Grant AM ('57)	Clinical Health Sciences
2016	Prof. Robyn Sloggett ('72)	Cultural Heritage: Conservation & Heritage
2015	Joanne Knight ('96)	Law: Advocacy for alleviating poverty
2014	Prof. Kerry Landman ('70)	Mathematics: Research (Modelling)
2013	Nicole Hahn ('96)	Engineering: Relief Work, Syria
2012	Natalie Smith ('86)	Occupational Therapy/Service
2011	Dr Barbara Martin ('51)	Medicine/Service: Obstetrics/Gynaecology
2010	Associate Prof. Ainsley Newson ('93)	Bioethics Medical and Clinical Ethics
2009	Dr Heather Cleland ('73)	Medicine: Plastic and Maxillofacial Surgery
2008	Penelope Foley ('84)	Service: Justice & Reconciliation, South Africa
2007	Prof. Winifred G Nayler (nee Millott '47)	Medicine Research: Cardiovascular Drugs
2006	Jenika Graze ('81)	Service to Palliative Care Nursing, Nepal
2005	Val Johnston (nee Hutchison '47)	Education/Humanitarian
2004	Margaret Waterhouse OAM	Reconciliation
	(nee Macknight '57)	

2021 Awards

Years 5 to 11

Academic Excellence Awards

Year 5 Ka Hey (Sophie) Ng Julia Rozenkova

Year 6

Charlotte Li Zoe Wong

Year 7

Janelle Cheok Bailey Free Saloni Gunasekera Jasmine Ma Anusha Nadig Phoebe Suttie Rebecca Tong Sharon Zhou

Year 8

Laura Cairo Aaryn Chieng Charlotte Donaldson Jessica Field Natasha Kohlman Amelia McIntosh Elissa Pomeroy Amanda Un Minqing (Theresa) Wang Olivia Xin

Year 9

Babette Ben-Meir Teagan Briffa Frances Chan Julia Glenn Caitlin Jong Runlin (Vinny) Liang Katherine Ma Cynthia Shi Stephanie Tang Heidi Tully Rachel Zhou

Year 10

Claire Adam Meg Harrison Katherine Henry Bethany Koh Audrey Macdonald Maya Pillay Milla Pitkanen Zara Rosenberg Georgia Snadden Mathilde Stolz

Year 11

Chloe Amling Jacinta Caruso Gwyneth Chan Lili Klapp Peixi (Aimee) Li Jesselyn Lim Lauren Loh Anna Orelli Annabelle Parris Ebony Reid Estelle Rodriguez Mahalakshme Thiagarajan





The Barbara Green Memorial Art Award

Presented to: Frances Johnson, Year 11

The Barbara Green Memorial Art Award, is a bequest of the Green family. It was set up to honour the inspiring work Barbara as an Art and Textiles teacher. 1985-2004. It is presented to the most outstanding Year 11 Art student who is continuing her Art studies in Year 12. Barbara Green's passion as an educator extended to Christian Education, and she volunteered her time and expertise to the greater school community. The glass trophy (housed in the Shirley Bourne Gallery) was made and gifted in 2009 by glass artist Jennifer King ('99), friend to Barbara's daughter, Phoebe Green ('99).

The Buxton Music Award

Presented to:

Lauren Loh, Year 11

The Buxton Bequest is awarded to a student from Year 11 or below who is expected to continue her education at Strathcona, and who has made a significant contribution to classical music as a member of the choir, orchestra or a chamber group.

Contribution to Community Awards

The gift from Mrs Helen Hughes, these awards recognise individual students who by their affirmation and practical support of the values of Strathcona, have done much to build and strengthen the sense of community in the School. Through their personal qualities of generosity and compassion, and their strong social conscience they have been fine examples of the concern for and service to others at the heart of the School.

Year 6 Evelyn Menzies

Year 7 Jasmine Ma

Year 8 Amelia McIntosh Year 9 Cherie Katsoulis

Year 10 Chloe Tobin

Year 11 Elizabeth O'Sullivan

